Janet Steele

Janet Steele Named New Director of the Institute for Public Diplomacy and Global Communication

September 16, 2016

Janet Steele takes the helm at the Institute for Public Diplomacy and Global Communication where she oversees speaker and panel events, media training workshops for international delegations, and graduate workshops promoting greater knowledge and practice in public diplomacy.

New Faculty

Debbie Cenziper and Ethan Porter Join SMPA Faculty

August 24, 2016

Two new faculty members who will enhance teaching and research in both journalism and political communication are joining the School of Media and Public Affairs this semester: investigative reporter for the Washington Post and author Debbie Cenziper and emerging scholar in political science from the University of Chicago Ethan Porter.
“We pride ourselves on the caliber of our faculty at SMPA,” said Frank Sesno, Director of the School of Media and Public Affairs. “Our deep commitment to interdisciplinary education and harboring an environment of theory and practice are reflected in our choices for new faculty. Debbie is a Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist who has just published a new book; and Ethan comes to SMPA with an exciting research agenda focused on political psychology, public opinion, and experimental design. They will bring that insight, enthusiasm and expertise to our students.”

Steven Livingston and colleagues discuss new technologies at SMPA

Steven Livingston and Colleagues Explore New Tools for Transnational Advocacy

April 21, 2016

On Wednesday April 6, Professor Steven Livingston hosted a group of scientists and technologists at the School of Media and Public Affairs to discuss a cutting-edge technology:

Professor Robert Entman at ICOMM Conference

Robert Entman Receives the Distinguished Scholar Award

April 08, 2016

On March 15, B. and M.C. Shapiro Professor of Media and Public Affairs, Robert M. Entman, was awarded the International Communication Distinguished Scholar Award during the International Studies Association (ISA) Conference in Atlanta, Georgia. The International Communication Distinguished Scholar Award is given each year during the International Communication Section (ICOMM) of the ISA Conference. It is awarded to a scholar whose work has made important contributions to the field of International Communication in the context of international studies. Any member of the International Communication Section can nominate a scholar and an executive committee selects the winner.

Jason Osder

How Sundance Documentaries Are Breaking the Rules

February 10, 2016

School of Media and Public Affairs Professor Jason Osder, attended Sundance Film Festival where he observed a trend of documentaries that move beyond the principles of journalism in favor of creative troupes found more frequently in fictionalized films. These films are more explorative, and the filmmakers aren’t afraid to hoodwink the audience to make a larger point.

Yong-Chan Kim and Laura King

Announcing the Spring 2016 Shapiro Fellows: Yong-Chan Kim and Laura King

January 22, 2016

The School of Media and Public Affairs is pleased to announce the 2016 J.B. and Maurice C. Shapiro Fellows in Media and Public Affairs., communication professor Yong-Chan Kim and international journalist Laura King. Kim is currently a professor at the College of Communication at Yonsei University, South Korea, where he also serves as the director of Urban Socio-Spatial Informatics Center and Principal Investigator of Urban Communication Lab. King—currently on leave from her post as the “Los Angeles Times” Bureau Chief in Cairo, Egypt—has spent much of her journalistic career covering conflicts and was previously a correspondent for the Associated Press. She has been with the “LA Times” since 2002, and was assigned a regional beat that included Pakistan and Afghanistan.

SMPA Visiting Scholar Javier Lesaca

Visiting Scholar Javier Lesaca Presents ISIS Audiovisual Engagement Strategy Research at the UN Security Council

October 29, 2015

Visiting scholar Javier Lesaca gave a speech at the Security Council of the UN explaining his research on ISIS audiovisual engagement strategy and stressed the importance of facing the terrorism as a communication challenge. He explained that Daesh has published more than 920 audiovisual campaigns designed by 33 different producers in the last 22 months.Those campaigns were designed to engage with young audiences around the world--almost 50% of the ISIS videos containing real executions were similar to/inspired by executions shown in films and video games.

Terker Fellow Frank Fahrenkopf and Amy Walter

SMPA Welcomes Political Operative Frank Fahrenkopf, Jr. and Journalist Amy Walter as Terker Distinguished Fellows

September 30, 2015

Frank Fahrenkopf, Jr., the co-chairman on the Commission on Presidential Debates, and Amy Walter, editor of The Cook Report, will join the School of Media and Public Affairs (SMPA) as the 2015-2016 Terker Distinguished Fellows in Media and Public Affairs. These exceptional professionals will participate in class discussions, career advising and public events throughout the academic year.

Professor Nikki Usher

Professor Usher Wins Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Outstanding Young Scholar Award

August 05, 2015

Professor Nikki Usher was awarded the 2015 Lillian Lodge Kopenhaver Outstanding Young Scholar Award today.

Jason Osder

Jason Osder's 'Let the Fire Burn' Highlighted on 30th Anniversary of MOVE Bombings

May 20, 2015

May 13, 1985 was the day MOVE, a black liberation group in Philadelphia, was bombed by police. 11 people were killed, and more than 60 homes were destroyed.

Albert May

Professor Albert May to Retire This Year

April 24, 2015

Professor Albert May, who has taught at SMPA since 1997, will be retiring after this semester.

Matthew Hindman

Associate Professor Matthew Hindman's Research on Newspapers and Online Audience Growth

April 09, 2015

Harvard Joan Shorenstein Fellow (Fall 2014) and Associate Professor in the School of Media and Public Affairs Matthew Hindman recently published a paper on why local newspapers are falling behind in online audience growth and how they can fix the problem. Read more.

Mason McAllister

To Professor Mason McAllister, Thank You

April 08, 2015

Our longest serving adjunct professor, Mason McAllister, has taught journalism and publication design to SMPA students since 1985 but due to health reasons, recently announced he will not be return

J. Michael Shanahan

J. Michael Shanahan Journalism Internship Fund

February 23, 2015

The J. Michael Shanahan Journalism Internship Fund supports an SMPA program that Professor Shanahan (1943-2014) cared about deeply and worked on extensively:  student internships. The Fund permits SMPA students to pursue and benefit from enriching summer internship experiences that they otherwise might not be able to afford. Awarded in the spring to rising GW seniors pursuing journalism majors or minors, it supports an internship experience in the summer after junior year with an established media organization. Learn more and donate.

SMPA Shapiro Fellows

NPR TED Radio Hour Host and New York Times Columnist Join SMPA as Shapiro Fellows

January 08, 2015

Spring semester marks the arrival of seasoned journalists Guy Raz and Thomas B.