The School of Media and Public Affairs draws fellows and scholars from leading professional organizations and academic institutions around the world.

Our Distinguished Fellows program brings exceptional professionals from the fields of media, political communication and public affairs to SMPA for two semesters to participate in class discussions, public events, and career advising. Past fellows include Joe Lockhart, Ed Henry, Sen. Bob Bennett, Bob Herbert, P.J. Crowley, Arun Chaudhary, Mara Liasson and Douglas Wilson. It is funded by the generosity of parents of SMPA students.

Our Shapiro Fellows program allows unique professionals the opportunity to teach one SMPA class for a semester and participate in school activities.

If you are interested in applying for a professional fellowship, contact Professor Kimberly Gross at kimgross@gwu.edu.


Babak BahadorBabak Bahador
Associate Research Professor
Emma BriantEmma Briant
Post-Doctoral Scientist
Patricia KabraThomas Miller
Public Diplomacy Fellow
Robert Sahr
Visiting Scholar 
Hua Xue
Visiting Scholar 
Jason Rezaian 
Terker Distinguished Fellow