UndergraduateGraduateProgramsSupport SMPA


Covering the Midterm Elections

Covering the Midterm Elections

On September 9, SMPA notable GW alumni - including Reid H. Wilson, CCAS, BA'05 (The Washington Post), Shawna Thomas, SMPA, BA'02 (Meet the Press) Andres Gyllenhaal, SMPA, BA '74 (The McClatchy Company), and Emily Cahn, SMPA, BA'11 (Roll Call) - previewed the fall midterm elections and shared their thoughts on key races. The event was moderated by Associate Professor of Media and Public Affairs and Washington Post reporter Cheryl W. Thompson and sparked great conversation online with the #coveringmt hashtag. Visit the event page for a slideshow of the twitter conversation.

Other Headlines:



Kevin Frey


Intern Dirary: Kevin Frey at Cox Media Group

Kevin Frey, Journalism and Mass Communication Major '15, just completed a summer internship with the D.C. Bureau for Cox Media Group. As he was treated more like a producer than an intern, Frey plunged head first into the journalism world, covering press conferences and interviewing congressmen. Read more about his experience here.




Frank Sesno and Colin Powell
Sesno Interviews Colin Powell

Director of the School of Media and Public Affairs Frank Sesno interviewed Colin Powell in Lisner Auditorium on August 4, 2014. Powell, a former secretary of state and GW alumnus, shared leadership advice from his new book, "It Worked for Me: In Life and Leadership." During the interview, organized by the Smithsonian Institution, Sesno asked the four-star general: "When you were a kid, did you imagine all you'd achieve?" Read more.


Events   Centers and Institutes

Upcoming Events

A Celebration of Nikki Usher and
"Making News at the 'New York Times'"

Wednesday, September 24, 6:30 pm
2nd Floor Art Gallery Lobby

"Making News at 'The New York Times,'" by Professor Nikki Usher, is the first in-depth portrait of the nation's, if not the world's, premier newspaper in the digital age. It presents a lively chronicle of months spent in the newsroom observing daily conversations, meetings, and journalists at work. Don't miss the celebration and a special talk by Professor Usher. RSVP today!

September 15: Pizza with Director Frank Sesno

September 17: Brownbag Talk: The Myth of Multistakeholderism in Internet Governance

September 24: A Celebration of Nikki Usher and "Making News at the 'New York Times'"

September 24: Webinar for MA in Media and Strategic Communication

September 25: "Let the Fire Burn" Screening

October 15: Open House for MA in Media and Strategic Communication

October 29: Webinar for MA in Media and Strategic Communication

November 4: Berkshire Beyond Bugget: The Enduring Value of Values

Sign up for our Email Newsletter

The Documentary Center at the George Washington University