2022 SMPA Award, Scholarship and Prize Recipients

May 17, 2022

Alt Text


Congratulations to all 2022 award, prize, and scholarship winners! This year, SMPA students studied, worked hard, and excelled. Our awards recognize the accomplishments, contributions, and provide support. 

Larry King Scholarships

Winners: Nicholas Anastacio, Marisol Cabrera, Henry Long, Tappy Lung, Lauren Nixon, Ianne Salvosa, Jarrod Wardwell, Abrigail Williams

The Larry King scholarship was created by the former CNN personality, American television and radio host, whose work has been recognized with awards including two Peabodys, an Emmy award, and 10 Cable ACE Awards. This award goes to rising seniors with superior academic records.

Eaton Foundation Scholarships

Winners: Drew Amstutz, Georgena Mierow, Erin Rowson

This merit-based scholarship supports SMPA seniors in the combined degree program.

Eaton Service Prize

Winners: Cameron Landry, Erin McNamara, Catherine Morris

Committed to classmates and community, SMPA students enrich the learning and living experience in many ways this prize is awarded to students who have made a special contribution to the life of SMPA.

Hoberman Prize

Winners: Brandon Walter Hill, Catherine Oriel

SMPA students inspire the future. The prize was created by 2011 SMPA graduate Sarah Hoberman and her family. The merit-based award is given for original and meaningful journalism.

Freedman Family Scholarship

Winners: Charlene Richards

This award was endowed by Michael Freedman. Preference is given to returning undergraduate students with financial need who aspire to be professional journalists.

Schneider-Taylor Scholarship

Winners: Joseph Decilos, Olivia Dul

This award was established by the parents of a recent graduate. The scholarship provides financial support for SMPA underclassmen.

Dorothy and Will Roberts Prize

Winners: Madelyn Cole, Elizabeth Gonzalez, Molly Kaiser, Sidney Lee, Zachary Nosanchuk, Shelby Singleton

This prize was created by Professor Steven Roberts in the name of his parents. The prize honors graduating seniors who have demonstrated academic achievement, professional promise and community service.

Sherman Page Allen Scholarships

Winners: Bridget Bushey, Zeniya Cooley, Sejal Govindarao, Yvonne Liccione

This scholarship supports students with a desire to specialize in the field of journalism. The scholarship was endowed in 1966 through a bequest from the estate of Violet B. Robinson.

Gridiron Foundation Scholarships

Winners: Kate Carpenter, Ishani Chettri, Sebastian Espinosa, David Korn, Katherine Lancaster, Ella Louise Stern, Isha Trivedi

SMPA fosters exceptional experiential learning. Created in 1975 by the Gridiron, a long-standing organization of Washington-based journalists, these merit-based awards are open to first years, sophomores and juniors, and consideration given to financial need and minority status.

Essary Prize

Winners: Zeniya Cooley, Kalina Newman

Quality journalism is an essential ingredient of an informed public and a healthy democracy. The oldest SMPA prize was created in 1948 to honor the memory of Jesse Frederick Essary, an American journalist who was part of the White House press corps in the decades before the Second World War. This award goes to a student who has given a promise of sound citizenship and ability in “forthright reporting.”