Staub Faculty Excellence Awards

A faculty member stands near a lectern during a lecture class.


Each year, the Robert and Christine Staub Faculty Excellence Award is given to one School of Media and Public Affairs full- or part-time faculty member for outstanding achievement in teaching, effectiveness in advising and mentoring or service roles outside the classroom.

The awardee is recognized at the end of the school year and receives a cash prize. Nominations for the award can be made by any member of the SMPA community, including students, alumni, faculty or staff. 

This award is made possible by the generosity of Robert and Christine Staub, parents of Mallory Staub, Columbian College of Arts and Sciences class of 2010.


Nominate a Faculty Member

To submit a nomination, send a short essay of no more than 500 words describing why the faculty member should be selected for the award to [email protected]

Nominations for the 2023 award are due by Friday, May 12. Winners from the previous five years are not eligible to be nominated.

The winning faculty member is chosen by a committee of students, emeritus faculty and other SMPA community members.

Past Winners

2020 Ethan Porter
2019 Imani M. Cheers
2018 Cheryl W. Thompson
2017 Kerric Harvey
2016 Kimberly Gross
2015 Steven Livingston
2014 Emily Thorson
2013 Albert May
2012 Mike Shanahan
2011 Michael Freedman
2010 Kerric Harvey
2009 Roxanne Russell
2009 Kimberly Gross