Fellows & Special Appointments

The School of Media and Public Affairs draws fellows, visiting scholars and research faculty from leading professional organizations and academic institutions around the world.

Current Appointments


Dante Chinni

Dante Chinni

Director, American Communities Project; Research Professor

David Ensor

David Ensor

Director, Project for Media and National Security





Fellowship and Research Opportunities

Terker Distinguished Fellows


Our Distinguished Fellows program brings exceptional practitioners in media, political communication and public affairs to the school for a year-long program including class discussions, public events and career advising.

Past fellows include Rep. Brendan Boyle, White House correspondent April Ryan, political broadcast journalist Ed Henry, former Sen. Bob Bennett, former Assistant Secretary of State for Public Affairs P.J. Crowley and the first official videographer of the White House, Arun Chaudhary. The program is funded by the generosity of the parents of an SMPA alumna.

Shapiro Fellows

Our Shapiro Fellows program allows unique professionals the opportunity to teach one SMPA class for a semester and participate in school activities. Past fellows include The New York Times writer Thomas Edsall, former Under Secretary of State Tara Sonenshine and former longtime White House Correspondent Helen Thomas.


If you are interested in applying for a professional fellowship, contact Professor Silvio Waisbord at [email protected]. If you are interested in supporting these programs, please contact [email protected].